About KBR

KBR Rural Public Power District is a non-profit public utility whose mission is to safely provide our customers reliable, high quality and reasonably priced electricity and other energy related products and services.

The first official meeting of the Board of Directors of KBR was held in February of 1946 in Ainsworth, Nebraska.  It was originally formed as a cooperative, KBR Electric Membership Cooperation.  Engineering and construction loans were made through the Rural Electrification Administration (REA) in Washington, D.C. to begin the process of bringing electric service to the remote sandhills of north-central Nebraska.

In December of 1950, the Board of Directors voted to change to a public power district, thus KBR Rural Public Power District was formed and has remained so to this day.

Today, KBR has 16 substations served from 152 miles of 34.5 kV, 69 kV and 115 kV transmission lines, with over 2,616 miles of 7.2/12.5 kV and 14.4/24.9 kV distribution lines supplying electric service to over 4,852 meters scattered across 5,000 square miles of service territory in the sandhills of north-central Nebraska.

Our Service Area:

KBR Rural Public Power District operates and maintains over 2,616 miles of distribution lines along with 126 miles of transmission line that are served by 16 substations located throughout the District’s remote 5,000 square mile service area.  KBR purchases its’ total electrical energy requirements from Nebraska Public Power District.

KBR serves all of Brown, Rock, Keya Paha County and a large portion of Cherry County, in the remote sandhills of north central Nebraska.

KBR’s main office is located in Ainsworth, Nebraska, at 374 North Pine Street.  We have a 3-man outpost located ½ mile west of Springview in Keya Paha County and a 4-man outpost located approximately 2 miles west of Valentine in Cherry County.  Our normal business hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Board of Directors & Management

KBR Rural Public Power District is governed by a nine member Board of Directors representing our consumers located in Brown, Rock, Keya Paha and Cherry counties.

Directors are elected at-large within their county at the November General Election for a six-year term.  Three directors represent Rock County, three represent Keya Paha County, two represent Brown County and one represents Cherry County.  Board meetings are held the first Monday of each month at our office in Ainsworth, and are open to the public.

View Agenda


Keith Baker
Keith Baker
87641 430th Ave
Ainsworth, NE 69210
Phone: 402-760-2765
Andrew Rowan
Andrew F. (Randy) Rowan III
45461 Coon Creek Ave
Mills, NE  68753
Phone: 402-497-2498
Josh Wright
Joshua (Josh) Wright

650 Sunrise Circle
Bassett, NE  68714
Phone: 402-382-8713
Pat Schumacher
Pat Schumacher
88323 Meadville Ave
Ainsworth, NE 69210
Phone: 402-387-0540
Mike Kreitman
Mike Kreitman

44768 US Hwy 20
Bassett, NE 68714
Phone: 402-684-2255
Patty Andersen
Patty Andersen
89819 Mule Shoe Creek Ave
Sparks, NE 69220
Rod Stolcpart
Rod Stolcpart
87610 456th Ave
Newport NE 68759
James Lee
James R. (Jim) Lee
39359 Lee Drive
Valentine, NE 69201
Phone: 308-748-2240


Robert Beatty
Robert Beatty
General Manager
Office:  1-402-387-1120
Home: 1-402-387-0373
Jesse PrewittJesse Prewitt
Operations Manager
Office:   1-402-387-1120
Home:  1-402-497-2594