KBR Rural Public Power District is a non-profit public utility whose mission is to safely provide our customers reliable, high quality and reasonably priced electricity and other energy related products and services.

KBR is one of 32 rural electric systems located in Nebraska and one of nearly 1,000 electric systems nationwide. We provide electric service to over 5,400 electric accounts scattered across over 5,000 square miles of service area located in the counties of Brown, Rock, Keya Paha and Cherry in the sandhills of north-central Nebraska.

We are a distribution utility — we don’t generate our own electricity. We purchase all of our power from the Nebraska Public Power District through the Nebraska Electric G&T, both headquartered in Columbus, Nebraska. KBR, along with the other 21 members of the Nebraska Electric G&T, recently completed negotiations and signed long-term, total requirements power supply contracts with the Nebraska Public Power District, which assures us of a very stable and economical power supply far into the future.

KBR has 19 full-time employees; four working out of our Valentine Outpost, three serving out of our Springview Outpost and the balance headquartered in our general office located in Ainsworth, Nebraska.

KBR is governed by nine elected board members, three from Keya Paha County, three from Rock County, two from Brown County and one from Cherry County. Each board member is elected at the November general election and is elected for a six-year term.